My mini human and I ~ Crazy delightful experiences contd…..


There has been so much going on. I have been tapping away on my keyboard for most part. And then, the question pops – Why is there a lacuna in the blogging space? Apparently, I have been spending a lot of time either reading news on the desktop or social networking on the phone or playing football with my three plus year old son and engaging him with revision of alphabet and numbers! Phew! I am drained! And then, there is this teeny weeny space in my head that wants me hooked to blogging. And the urge to give in, is incredibly overpowering. So, I make a point to engage myself in other chores as well, to keep me off the Net space for some time.

ff1

For the past few days, my son and I have been playing quite interesting games. Be it, badminton in our garage or football on the long porch or even drenching each other using the water hose at home. (the new update is that the he broke the rackets because he discovered that they are breakable!) For A, water is bliss. Water is fun. Water is a must. His morning ritual starts with frolicking in a huge tub of water placed in our garage for an hour at least. Maybe, it is the need to beat the heat of a humid summer. And then, a homework session followed by making a home or a train out of the sofa cushions! The sitti becomes the engine and as my little engine driver takes it from one room to another, doing pretty much everything, the pushing, the pulling, the driving et al. I am amazed at the way children perceive objects that are absolutely of little meaning to us. It is in fact intriguing to study the thought process of a child. Like, my son says:

“Mom, did you know tick mark looks like 7 (if rotated)? Also, if 7 rotated, looks like a V.

Mom, if you invert a M, it becomes a W and vice-versa.

Mom, the number nine is a lollipop with the candy hanging on to one side!

Mom, small alphabet e looks like a reversed number 6.

Mom, Alphabet W has two joined V’s.

Mom, if you invert Z, it is an N.

Mom, if you invert H, it becomes an I (I as in with two sleeping lines above and below).”

These were the few, I remember! There are many instances where A can spot something entirely different and interesting in a place where we find nothing interesting. And then, he has his hideout in the drawing room, where he arranges the cushions in a way, that one cushion becomes the roof and the other, the door between the two sofas. The small openings through which we can look into his space, he calls them windows. He doesn’t let anyone (except me) enter his hideout. It is his place where he sits with his cars, a Vaseline bottle (he uses the cream to scrub his car and says, it would smell nice), a lot of crayons, pencils, his books and note books. At times, he gets some cloth clips and calls them little crocodiles, given their shape. Sometimes, he prefers having his food in his small abode. Well, I understood for a fact how space is so important even to children. Like, we all need our space. We grow in it, we evolve in it. And talk about my son, he guards his space with a hawk’s eye. For him, it is like a prized posession that he enjoys and savors atleast once a day. When my mother saw this, she remarked, “Happy is a person who is happy in his space! That is how we all should be. So much to learn from children, no?”

And, as I continue to see my son grow, I realize why we all crave for a childhood yet again. It is not because, we did not have much to do then. It is because, even if we were heavily dependent on our parents on many aspects, we miss the innocence and the unconditional love of the relationships we nurtured. There was enough scope for self-exploration. Our imaginations made us happy. Most importantly, we sought happiness in everything as children. But, I am happy to see that childhood again and am reliving it with my son every day. Every moment I spend with him, enlightens me about how I need to see the world. A few days ago, there was a major power outage in the middle of hot summer nights. My mother and I were a bit complaining about the sultriness and about how we were drenched in sweat. And then, A walked up to us with a newspaper and started fanning it. I was a bit flushed when I saw this and realized he was doing it to hear the sound of the wind that was generated by the fanning. In a few minutes, we were fanning each other with the paper, laughing silly about the funny sounds the newspapers made when we fanned.

In fact, I appreciate the fact that my son doesn’t comprehend or probably did not heed to the fact that, a power cut is a discomfort. Well, as my mother pointed out rightly, I have a lot to learn from him despite being his teacher.

dd11

P.S: Well, I have to admit here that my son first grasped the mirror reflection of numbers and alphabet first, before I spent an enviable chunk of my energy in helping him understand the difference between the real ones and their mirror images. The task has been absolute hard work, yet delightful. And, my moment of victory came when a few days back, he explained to me the difference between the real and the mirror images of the numbers and alphabet he had been practicing.

Hard work, paid in full!

dd1

Leave your prints here :)

