My heart ‘leaps’ today! Leap day, no?


llp

Today happens to be a day that defines the leap year. I love this day a lot as much as I have spent a major part of today, in a grumpy mood (this is what happens when hubby is out of station and you are stuck in a mind bubble not knowing what to do). So, as I was prodding further into the concept of leap year and 29th Feb, I came across some trivia to be shared with you all…

“One year has the length of 365 days, 5 hours, 48 minutes and 45 seconds. This is hard to calculate with, so a normal year has been given 365 days and a leap year 366 days. In leap years, February 29th is added as leap day, which doesn’t exist in a normal year. A leap year is every 4 years, but not every 100 years, then again every 400 years……………..”

When I first studied about this concept in school, I was kind of blown away by the idea of ‘What if my birthday had fallen on this day, I would probably age slower than the others’. What a vain thought, no? Only the number of my birthday parties would have reduced. But then, my dramatic soliloquies were safely guarded within the fortress of The Sagittarius Thinker (Yours truly was born a Saggi) Which is why, attributing to my innate characteristics, I never discussed the bazillion ‘punny’ questions that droned in my head, with anyone, including my parents. Let’s say, I spared them! 😛 However, my strange obsession with 29th Feb was always flickering in the back of my head even as, more important things came along. Later, College happened. Job happened. Friendships happened. Some were carved in stone. Some were never meant to be. I intensely experienced the pros and cons of my independent life as I kept getting sucked into deadlines, projects, late night meetings and what not! And then, 29th Feb ‘2008 happened!

Oh yes! I saw him for the first time leaning on his splendor and talking to someone! The aviator shades were misleading from the beginning. And, as we both were about to take a good glance at each other, a smart young woman zoomed on her scooty, through the gates of Ramakrishna Hotel, Pune! This was the lady who I had befriended on Orkut just a couple of days back and, was meeting her for the first time! Well, she had casually invited me for a get-together wherein, I did not know a soul! At any other time in life, I would not have attempted something as this. And yet, I went to Hotel Ramakrishna, Pune on 29th Feb’2008. Adding to the day’s spice, the aviator man was one of the gang. Yes people, that day pretty much changed the sails of my ship. I earned a friend for a lifetime – D, I miss you a lot, girl! We sure had the best times together in the months that followed. And, I married the aviator man leaning on the splendor. A stranger I saw that day, became my soul mate two years thereafter.  Isn’t life full of surprises? As for my obsession with 29th Feb, I just realized that God keeps a tab on what I want. Just that, He decides the ‘when’ better than me 😀

destny

P.S: Yours truly and her knight in shining armor completed 8 years of having known each other and, 6 years of marital bliss.

Leave your prints here :)

