Har Har Mahadev!


Some days are meant to remind a couple of love. Some are meant to remind birthdays of near and dear ones. Some are meant to remind of anniversaries. Some remind us of friendships and, some of women’s day. Mother’s day et all. I think there should be something like Men’s day too! 😀

Well, today happens to be Mahashivaratri. Some trivia I got from the Internet:

shiva

“Shivratri, is the darkest day of the month. Celebrating Shivratri on a monthly basis, and the particular day, Mahashivratri, almost seems like celebration of darkness. Any logical mind would resist darkness and naturally opt for light. But the word “Shiva” literally means “that which is not.” “That which is,” is existence and creation. “That which is not” is Shiva. “That which is not” means, if you open your eyes and look around, if your vision is for small things, you will see lots of creation. If your vision is really looking for big things, you will see the biggest presence in the existence is a vast emptiness. A few spots which we call galaxies are generally much noticed, but the vast emptiness that holds them does not come into everybody’s notice. This vastness, this unbounded emptiness, is what is referred to as Shiva. Today, modern science also proves that everything comes from nothing and goes back to nothing. It is in this context that Shiva, the vast emptiness or nothingness, is referred to as the great lord, or Mahadeva.” – The Sadguru

But today, also happens to be one of those days in my life that I shall never forget in this lifetime. This day shall will be a stark reminder about the very unpredictability of life and how, it can just topple like a deck of cards. This day will remind me of the struggles and battles, my family and I fought together for weeks that followed after. This day continues to reinforce my faith in God and gives me the hope that, every cloud has a silver lining! Because, this was the day, I suffered from the most acute symptoms of a medical condition – Myasthenia Gravis (An auto immune disorder). The three weeks that followed this day, made me experience Einstein’s theory of relativity in a very practical manner. Every second seemed to be an hour. Every hour that passed seemed to be a drop in the mighty ocean. And ironically, while I experienced excruciating pain and helplessness during the debilitating cycles of plasma pherasis (Plasma dialysis), the alarming sugar levels in my blood, the erratic heart beats that ensured me an ICU visit, the painful CSF test (wherein cerebral spinal fluid is extracted from the spine), and the terrible terrible fear of unknown, strangely I felt very close to God in those unstable moments of life. Even as black clouds of doubts on whether I would survive this ordeal rose attacked me with frightening hallucinations and insomnia, I did find my verve to live, in the Vishnu Sahsranamam and Hanuman chalisa that played in my ears. Even as I had lost my ability to speak with my eyesight deteriorating, my ears had made up for the senses that gave on me! Yes, I could hear prayers for me midst the noise and the chaos! A beauty of Nature, I would call it! It was like hanging on to prayer chains as hard as I could and, battling the frightening waves of the fear of the unknown! Somehow, this day remains etched in my memory and it continues to give me tons of hope and faith that, somehow things always sort out and that, bad times are meant to give us pain, but not to weaken us but to strengthen ourselves!

Whenever I remember this day, my mother shudders, my father and hubby become silent. For them, this phase was far worse than it was for me considering that, my son was just 2 years old then. The pain that our loved ones undergo while we are sick is simply unfathomable. In moments as these, we suddenly look beyond the minute aberrations in human behavior and, start believing that the world is good still. There are benevolent souls around. And then, aren’t pain, struggles and hardships,  a part and parcel of our lives? Whatever happened three years back on this day to me has humbled me in more ways than one, despite the horrors it brought along! Through the arduous weeks that followed, every step taught me something new. In that period, pain became my friend and time, my mentor! And then, today this year is also the same day when Lord Shiva is believed to have conquered his enemies. Have I conquered mine? I am on the way and I believe, I shall get there some day! After all, great victories have never been won in a day! Importantly, they come with impressionable battle scars! Isn’t it?

Har Har Mahadev is Lord Shiva’s battle cry which means, each one of us has HIM residing within us and, we have to seek HIM within ourselves to help destroy our fears and negative thoughts that weaken us! That said, I wish from my heart each and everyone in this world MahaShivaratri!

May Lord Shiva shower his choicest blessings on this world……

May He guide each one of us through troubled times…..

May He give us the mental and physical strength to get through the troubled phases of life……..

May He give us the courage to beat our fears and insecurities……

May He shield us from negativity and, help us seek light in darkness……….

May He bless us with good thoughts and optimism………….

And may we remember HIM every day of our lives, a gift from HIM.

Har Har Mahadev! 

aum.jpg

Leave your prints here :)

